Life Span Development

Psychology / April 23, 2015 / No Comments /
A look at a human’s physical, cognitive, and psycho-social development through each of the four stages of development.

General summaries of the last four stages of human development: Adolescence, Young Adulthood, Middle Adulthood, and Late Adulthood. Examines physical, cognitive, and psycho-social aspects of development.

Risky behavior
Cognitive: Piaget (Formal operations), Elkind
Identity vs. identity confusion (Erikson)
Peer and Family relations

Young Adulthood
Cognitive: Postformal thought, Triarchic theory of
Intelligence (Sternberg), Emotional Intelligence
Personality: 5 factor model (Costa & McCrae)
Intimacy vs. Isolation (Erikson)
Levinson & the Grant Study
Culture: Marriage, childbirth, remaining single

Middle Adulthood
Physiological changes ? hearing, sight, endurance,
Ailments ? hypertension, osteoporosis, stress
Seattle Longitudinal Study: Fluid and Crystallized
Cognitive ? Hoyer and Schaie
Jung ? Individuation
Generativity versus stagnation (Erikson)
Psychosocial ? identity style, assimilation,

Late Adulthood
Biological aging ? genetic programming, variable rate
Physical changes
Cognitive ? Metamemory, semantic, procedural, sensory
Ego integrity versus despair (Erikson)
Disengagement, continuity, and activity theories
Marriage, family, peer relationships
Living arrangements

Adolescence is the developmental transition from childhood to adulthood. Although its beginning or end is not clearly marked in Western societies, adolescence lasts about a decade from age 11 or 12 until the late teens or early twenties. Adolescence carries many risks to healthy development, as well as opportunities for physical, cognitive, and psychosocial growth.

Leave a Reply